View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:05 am

Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 600CPM -Is this concerning? 

I've been noticing that the reading from Billings, MT averages 600CPM -Station ID 5:811. This seems high. I am thinking about moving to a nearby town and am wondering if this might be a dangerous place. I am new to reading these monitors so apologies if I am mistaken. Thank you for any advice. -Kelly

Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:06 pm
Site Admin

That is the EPA's gamma reading that Netc.com post on to the map and builds historical charts for NETC Chart Members.

Montana has one of the highest gamma readings in the US. It may be from the jetstream or all that oil radioactive componds that they use in the explosions underground to get the oil. Radiioactive waste products were found in the sinkhole in LA.

Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:32 pm

Thank you very much for your reply. I was hoping to make a move from Seattle to a place slightly safer but it seems Montana might not be that place! Perhaps staying in Seattle or just east of the cascades would be better. Do you have any advice? These are confusing times. Thank you so much for this website and all of your hard work!

Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:03 am
Site Admin

I would not move east in Washington - Spokane Washington is a lot worst off than Seattle. Just stay out of the rain. Maybe the desert might be better??

Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:19 pm