View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:12 am



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
 How to set location 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 9:48 am
Posts: 74
Location: Massachusetts
Nice Rant KC, I was happy to pay the fee, did when I first joined, then after time went by I inquired to when and how I needed to renew and told it was free now. Even when I paid, there were still unsolved issues and saw no replies or help on others issues. I pay 2 other sites now for yearly membership and the support is 100% there for any and all issues. I would be happy to fund the site, I love this site and it the best out here, but I don't want to put in my 5 cents worth and be the only one and still be where we are today still.

Now my Rant over :?

_________________
Tyngsboro,Mass. Station: TYNGS3


Sat May 16, 2015 8:32 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 5:14 pm
Posts: 426
Sorry to hear that didn't work...

...seems like you have a identity prob. with your setup.

...make sure you have the latest software version by clicking below:

http://www.netc.com/software

AND check your MAC address for conflicts with other stations.

Let me know if I can help further...

_________________
LP / http://lamarsworldmall.com/weather

View my other posts here:
https://www.netc.com/bb/search.php?keyw ... mit=Search


netc.com (donate will ya?)...


Mon May 18, 2015 2:33 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:40 pm
Posts: 2879
Location: Illinois
skybug wrote:
Nice Rant KC, I was happy to pay the fee, did when I first joined, then after time went by I inquired to when and how I needed to renew and told it was free now. Even when I paid, there were still unsolved issues and saw no replies or help on others issues. I pay 2 other sites now for yearly membership and the support is 100% there for any and all issues. I would be happy to fund the site, I love this site and it the best out here, but I don't want to put in my 5 cents worth and be the only one and still be where we are today still.

Now my Rant over :?


The Windows software has been nothing but a problem/headache from the start. Most of the members technical issues are traced back to that software. I have been running my station for two years now with the Raspberry Pi using NETC custom software. It has been nearly problem free the whole time.

The same programmer made both programs. I believe there are just too many variables with Windows software for one person to catch off a shoe-string budget.

_________________
MY OUTSIDE RADIATION MONITORING STATION:
South Beloit, Illinois - GMC200 Outside on HEPA air purifier, ground level, facing West.
http://netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEB5A139C


Thu May 21, 2015 1:26 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 5:14 pm
Posts: 426
As Microsoft changes their code like the wind blows it makes these issues appear and disappear so it is very hard (sometimes) to keep things working correctly. As a website programmer I've experienced the microsoft nightmare many times (different operating systems, updates that cause probs, internet explorer functionality, etc.). And as soon as they release something, someone has to go back and release a update to fix it.

This is a never ending problem (and a full time job on and 3rd party software for windows, especially "real time" software).

I have no (never used it) experience with the netc windows software and although I think we need a windows version for netc without doubt, I use the Pi/gmc-200 and have had absolutely no problems with it.

My 2 cents is that netc should focus on the Pi software program and sell em to anyone wishing to place a monitor online. My station works great and has been a blessing for me and anyone that wishes to see my readings...


For windows users, use a emulator like...

http://sourceforge.net/projects/rpiqemuwindows/

If you can make this work you could even run it off a flash drive (tablet? phone? sell it on a thumbdrive?)! And may even be able to install it on the counter itself if it has flash memory and a usb port...

I have not had time to look at the code for the win version so you guys may already be doing something like this...

...never hurts to suggest it though, right?

_________________
LP / http://lamarsworldmall.com/weather

View my other posts here:
https://www.netc.com/bb/search.php?keyw ... mit=Search


netc.com (donate will ya?)...


Thu May 21, 2015 7:00 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.